CDL traffic violations points in USA
Here we summarize how they work CDL traffic violations points in Florida, California, Texas, Illinois and Washington DC…
CDL licensed drivers who violate traffic laws receive points on their driving records, with consequences generally more severe than penalties of other kinds of licenses.
Once you’re convicted of an offense in the USA, or when you pay your traffic ticket, a certain number of points are added to your driving record.
Many violations can lead to license suspension or revocation, with which you will not be able to operate a vehicle. That means you will not be able to continue working.
But regardless of the local laws of each state, the transportation companies themselves can dismiss a driver if he commits even one minor traffic conviction. Keep that in mind.
See: How to be a truck driver for Walmart?
Besides, employers can decide not to hire a driver with points on their driving record.
Obviously, some violations are more serious than others and produce a higher number of points.
For example, in some states do not own a CDL metes out 50 points.
CDL traffic violations points in Florida
Once a driver receives a ticket, he could earn points against in his driving record. In the event of accumulation, your license may be suspended.
Furthermore, if a driver with a CDL license in Florida receives a citation in another state, the citation still will be sent to Florida to be added to the driver record.
Accumulate 12 points in 12 months will cause a 30-day suspension, while if you received 18 points within 18 months it causes a three-month suspension and 24 points within 36 months causes one-year suspension.
See: Florida CDL Requirements – How do I get the license?
In addition to DUI charges, if a driver with a CDL license is stopped in his commercial motor vehicle or in a private vehicle under the influence of alcohol, he could lose his license for up to one year on the first offense and lose permanently his commercial driver’s license on the second offense.
If it goes to the extreme of obtaining a second DUI with a CDL, the driver will not be able to continue to work.
See: ¿Puedo arreglar papeles si tengo un DUI en USA?
On the FLHSMV (Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) website you can find all the details about driver’s license points and suspensions.
CDL traffic violations points in California
In the state of California there is a system, known as NOTS (Negligent Operator Treatment System), «based on negligent operator points and is a series of warning letters and progressive penalties against your driving privilege«, according to DMV.
Keep in mind that all drivers over the age of 18 can be affected by NOTS, a system ranging from 0-3 points added to a driving record if law enforcement finds you responsible for a collision.
Nevertheless, major convictions, such as driving a commercial vehicle, received 3 points.
Besides, a commercial vehicle violation is given a point count of 1 ½ times its usual value.
A violation during the operation of a vehicle that requires a Class A or B license (or any certificate or endorsement) has 1 ½ points.
The same offense -for example in case of speeding- with other class of license has just one-point violation.
Class A or B drivers are considered negligent operators if they have the following point count accumulated on its driving records:
- 6 points in 12 months
- 8 points in 24 months
- 10 points in 36 months
Drivers in California with CDL license that operates at rates of speed of 15 mph or more could face a suspension on their license for 60-120 days, depending on the number of prior offenses.
Moving violations, such as failure to stop at a stop sign or red light, could be charge with penalties of thousands of dollars in court fees and fines, as well as suspension of the CDL license for up to a year (even with a first charge).
And drivers with a CDL that are charged with DUI could face important penalties, such as permanent loss of a CDL, jail or pay thousands of dollars in court costs.
On the DMV California website you could find more information about CDL traffic violations points.
Texas Point System – Commercial Driver License (CDL) Disqualifications
In case of being convicted of certain violations, Texas drivers may have theirs CDL (commercial driver license) or CLP (commercial learner permit) disqualified for a specified amount of time.
See: Texas commercial drivers license requirements – How to apply for a CDL?
But you may also be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle if you are a CDL or CLP holder and commit certain types of moving violations in your personal vehicle.
Below some convictions and its corresponding disqualification period for CDL drivers:
- Driving under alcohol effects / felony / leaving the scene of an accident while operating a commercial motor vehicle – 3 years disqualification for first violation and lifetime for second offense.
- Two serious traffic offenses («excessive speeding, reckless driving, improper or erratic lane changes, following too closely, etc».) within three years – 60 days disqualification.
- Three serious traffic offenses within three years – 120 days disqualification.
- Railroad-highway grade crossing violations – 60 days for first offense / 120 days for second violation within 3 years, and at least 1 year for third offense within 3 years.
- Using a motor vehicle in the commission of a felony – Lifetime
On DPS (Texas Department of Public Safety) website, you could read more details about CDL traffic violations points in Texas.
CDL violations points in Illinois
Under the Illinois law a CDL driver could face a disqualification if while driving a commercial motor vehicle he commits two “serious traffic violations” within a 3-year period or commit 3 such violations within a 3-year period.
Drivers are disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle if while they are driving a non-commercial motor vehicle they commit two serious traffic violations within a 3-year period or commit 3 such violations within a 3-year period, as long as the convictions would result in the suspension or revocation of the CDL holder’s non-CMV privileges.
See: Illinois CDL Requirements – Apply and Avoid Disqualification
Two serious violations within 3 years will lead to a minimum 2-month disqualification, and three violations within 3 years will result in a minimum 4-month disqualification.
Examples of serious traffic violations:
- Speeding 15 mph or more
- Reckless driving lane change violations
- Texting / using cell phone while driving
Exmples of major disqualifying offenses:
- The refusal to submit to a breath-alcohol test
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle with a revoked or suspended CDL
A second conviction of a major disqualifying offense equals to a lifetime CDL disqualification.
You can find all the details about CDL traffic violations points in Illinois General Assembly website.
CDL violation points in Washington DC
Drivers who accumulate too many points in Washington DC could lose their license.
In situations like a moving violation, or if you are found liable at a hearing, fail to pay a ticket within the required 60-day time period, or pay a ticket, you will be assessed points on your driver record for DC and non-DC moving violations.
Here is a table with just some common violations and points:
|DC license suspended, lose driving privileges for 90 days||10-11|
|DC license revoked, lose driving privileges until DMV reinstates license (at least 6 months after revocation)||12 or more|
|Follow another vehicle too closely||2|
|Operate a vehicle with a license expired less than 90 days||2|
|Violations that contribute to an accident||3|
|Speed 16-20 miles per hour above posted speed||4|
|Speed 21 miles per hour or more above posted speed limit||5|
|Leave the scene of a collision in which no personal injury occurs||8|
If you commit some of these violations, your license will automatically be revoked, and you will received 12 points on your driving record:
- Leave the scene of a collision, where personal injury occurs (hit and run)
- Use the driver license of another person
- Operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol / drugs
- Flee or attempt to elude a police officer
- Commit any violation while operating a vehicle without the permission of the owner
- Commit a felony crime involving the use of a motor vehicle
To see a complete list of violations and the corresponding points, access to DMV Washington website.
See: ¿Cómo funciona la inspección de carros en Washington DC?
Where can I find more information about CDL traffic violations points?
The best place to find information about CDL traffic violation points are DMV websites of each state.
You could also read reliable details in law firm’s blogs, as well as in DMV.org -an informative website not related to official DMV government agency-.
Besides, in these websites is possible to read more information about CDL violation points:
Illinois Drivers License Intatement Lawyer